The organisation behind the Webby Awards -- the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) -- has set up a sister awards scheme for Europe called the Lovie Awards (after the 'first computer programmer' Ada Lovelace).

The Lovie Awards has been created to specifically honour achievement and the huge amount of outstanding work in Europe, says the organisers, while taking into account local market differences. Hence, it is open to entries in five different European languages (English, French, Spanish, Italian and German).

Judges for the Lovie Awards include musician Imogen Heap; Jesus Encinar, founder of Idealista; Iain Dodsworth, founder and CEO of Tweetdeck; Stefan Glaenzer, founder of Whitebearyard; Mirko Pallera, director of Ninja Marketing; Tom Uglow, creative lead at Google; Elke Klinkhammer, executive creative director at Neue Digitale / Razorfish; David Rowan, editor of Wired; and Niklas Zennström, co-founder of Skype.

The winners of The Lovie Awards will be announced at an awards’ event, doubling up as the grand finale of the Internet Week Europe show from November 7-11, which is also run by IADAS. Work can be entered in four main category types: websites, mobile apps, online film and video; and interactive advertising and media. Within the four groups, there are over 70 sub-categories, ranging from experimental websites and viral video through to mobile innovation, apps and integrated campaigns.

Entries can be submitted online through the Lovie Awards site. The early entry deadline is 29 July.