Adobe 2012 Design Achievement Awards celebrate incredible student work

Adobe has announced the winners of its 12th annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards (ADAA). The 16 winners were picked from 41 finalists, who were themselves culled from nearly 5,000 entries from 70 countries. Four winners are studying at UK institutions, with the rest primarily from the US and Canada – though there were also winners from Belgium, Russia, Australia and Korea.

Judging panel member Fernanda Saboia, creative director at Brazilian creative agency Tatil Design, said, “Students’ accessibility to technology gives them so much freedom to test, experiment and really take risks in their efforts to create something very original. It is so beneficial for students to get recognition like this at the beginning of their career as it gives them the confidence to continue to innovate and push the boundaries of self-expression.”

Check out our pick of the winning work below.

Student Awards

Animation category winner: I am Tom Moody by Ainslie Henderson from Edinburgh College of Art
Installation Design category winner: Butcher's Hook by James Coltman (group leader) from University of the Arts London
Live Action category winner: The Turn of the Screw by Christopher Lavelle, Sunderland University

Illustration category winner: City Acrobat by Yeni Kim, Royal College of Art

Photography category winner: A Good Sport by Pablo Jimenez, Academy Of Art University, United States

Print Communications category winner: COMA by Jeff Han, Art Center College of Design, United States

The Faculty Awards for Innovation in Education went to St. Petersburg State Academy of Art and Design, Russia for Interactive Media; Ontario College of Art and Design, Canada for Motion and Video; and Rhode Island School of Design, United States for Traditional Media.

Note: We may earn a commission when you buy through links on our site, at no extra cost to you. This doesn't affect our editorial independence. Learn more.

Read Next...