Students honoured at Adobe ceremony

Adobe's Design Achievement Awards have been announced, honouring students from around the world. Finalists included two students from London's Royal College of Art - Adam Simpson was included in the Digital Illustration category, and Michael Murdoch featured in the Live Action category.

Finalists received a trip to Toronto to participate in the event and to attend a series of studio tours, while category winners bagged $5,000 and a stash of Adobe products. Students are also offered internships and opportunities to showcase their work at events such as Sundance and the ZeroOne Festival.

More than 1,800 students from 24 countries competed in the annual competition. "Honouring the top students in the creative arts is part of Adobe's ongoing commitment to design and film education, and to the creative professional market," said Melissa Dyrdahl, Adobe's senior vice president of corporate marketing and communications.

The full list of winners and finalists iss:

Winner: Keng-Ming Liu, School of Visual Arts New York
Finalists: Stephen Neary, New York University; Sunha Yoon, California Institute of the Arts in Valencia

Environmental Graphics and Packaging
Winner: Amy Wang, School of Visual Arts New York
Finalists: Mona Bagla, Ringling School of Art and Design in Sarasota, Fla; Forest Young and Rebecca Gimenez, Yale University in New Haven, Conn

Digital Illustration
Winner: Lucie Bichelberger, é, Paris
Finalists: Paul Bellila, l'Université Marc Bloch in Strasbourg, France; Adam Simpson, Royal College of Art in London

Interactive Design
Winner: Janina Boesch, Rhode Island School of Design in Providence, R.I,
Finalists: Filip Olszewski, Rhode Island School of Design; Sam Smelter, University of Wisconsin-Stout in Menomonie, Wis.

Live Action
Winner: Karolina Novitska, Massachusetts College of Art, Boston
Finalists: Matthew Murdoch, Royal College of Art; Brian Wee, Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, Calif.

Motion Graphics
Winner: Howard Hao-An Tsai, Art Center College of Design
Finalists: Steven Baughman, Parsons School of Design, New York; Jonathon Corbiere, Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning, Ontario, Canada.

Digital Photography
Winner: Nils Orth, Tyler School of Art, Temple University, in Elkins Park, Pa.
Finalists: Kyley Hellhake, Kutztown University, Kutztown, Pa.; Katherine Sheridan, Columbia College Chicago

Print Design Multi-Page
Winner: Stephan Powilat and Mathias Vogel, Fachhochschule Mainz in Mainz, Germany
Finalists: Anne-Katrin Ahrens, Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften, Hamburg, Germany; Albert J. Ignacio, Yaeger Moravia Rosenberg and Marcelo Viana from California College of the Arts in Oakland, Calif.

Print Design Single-Page
Winner: Hank Huang, Art Center College of Design
Finalists: Aliza Dzik and Dyland Fracareta, Yale University; Jiwon Lee, California Institute of the Arts


Elsewhere on IDG sites

Read Next...