Sydney-based Matt Harvey's talents include both design and music, and this project sees him persuing both. He's created the artwork for the latest album by post-rock band We Lost The Sea, which he also plays in.

Departure Songs is a concept album, with each song inspired by what Matt describes as "failed, yet epic and honorable journeys or events throughout history where people have done extraordinary things for the greater good of those around them, and the progress of the human race itself". Matt created an artwork for each song.

These range from the men who sacrificed themselves to avoid a greater disaster at Chernobyl to Captain Lawrence Oates's decision to go 'outside' at the South Pole.

The artworks have been collaged into the outside and inside artwork above, and you can pre-order the individual works as prints (shown here) or T-shirts from the band's site.

Thanks to Jenny Theolin for the tip.

>> Read on to see more of the works and discover what inspired them.

Next Page »