Dominique Falla: Relax & Unwind

Australian typographic designer and artist Dominique Falla has seen a lot of typographic art popping up in print ads and television commercials recently, and believes that certain art directors are drawn to using typographic artists to supply an illustrative approach to commercial typesetting. 

Hand-drawn typography specifically is making “a comeback like never before”, she explains. However, even though all of Dominique’s tactile typographic pieces are produced using laborious craft methods, “they usually spend some time inside a computer first”. She uses Adobe Illustrator to refine her work before outputting it, either using a vinyl cutter, a paper cutter, a laser cutter or a printer From there she recreates or builds the piece by hand. 

Her recent Relax & Unwind project for the Strutten Square One art exhibition in Brisbane, was first drawn by hand, and then scanned and refined in Illustrator. Dominique printed it out and used it as a guide for hammering in hundreds of tiny nails, around which she wound coloured string. The piece is 1.2m by 0.9m, took seven hours to nail and about 18 hours to wind, using 1km of string.

“I think as technology becomes second nature, artists can now move freely from the sketch book, to the drawing tablet, to the vector program, pixel program, 3D program, even the motion graphics program,” she explains. “Artists have the ability to be multi-disciplined now, more than ever, and the resulting typographic experiments have the ability to travel around the Internet in much more visible ways to inspire more people from around the world.” 

Links

Autobahn, autobahn.nl
Steven Bonner, stevenbonner.com
DixonBaxi, dixonbaxi.com
Strichtpunkt, strichpunkt-design.de
Oded Ezer, odedezer.com
Dominique Falla, dominiquefalla.com
Chris Labrooy, chrislabrooy.com
Dominic Le Hair, behance.net/DominicLe-Hair
Evelin Kasikov, evelinkasikov.com
Monotype Imaging, monotypeimaging.com
Erik Spiekermann, spiekermann.com
Synoptic Office, synopticoffice.com
Craig Ward, wordsarepictures.co.uk
Why Not Associates, whynotassociates.com